It’s all Greek to me!

A big hello to everyone from Rhodes – I’m into my fourth week of my overseas placement and am spending a week in the Resort Office, getting to grips with the various Admin and Finance roles. My first 10 days of my placement were spent in the lovely island of Rhodes; with the most hours of sunshine of all the Greek islands and with temperatures reaching 38ºC – I certainly have not been missing the British weather! I spent my first week overseas understanding what the Holiday Advisor role entails and viewing many of the differentiated products that we have on the island – which also included getting acquainted with Shrek and Alex the Lion in the Holiday Village! My first week also included a day at the airport, departure and arrival transfers and contributing to the HV What’s On Welcome. It has been really useful in getting to know the team and being able to interact with customers directly; I even managed to take over 150 Euros in excursion bookings! Rhodes definitely has something for everybody from the bright lights of Bar Street in Faliraki to the picturesque sugar-cube houses of Lindos to the historical medieval town of Rhodes Old Town – I’ve been lucky enough to experience them all. Unfortunately, I did let the UK Grads down by losing a lilo race – hoping to redeem myself next week when I return to Rhodes… I then transferred to Kos to spend a week shadowing Rob  in his role as RTM.  During the week I was able to see what it’s really like to be a manager overseas. I am now back in Rhodes and have recently spent some time with the Weddings Team, where I’ve learnt about the many different aspects of the job role including attending a couple of weddings. Next week I’ll be flying into Crete for a TUI Hellas meeting and will be catching up with Georgia too!

Charlotte

Leave a Reply

