Get to know the Grads – Part 3 – Will

Will
Will

Brief introduction of yourself

Hi, I’m Will. I’m 24 years old and originally from Essex (although I tend to say London because of Essex’s bad rep!) I graduated from Aston University in 2009 with a BSc in Business and Management.

What did you do before TUI (University, previous work experience etc.)?

During my placement year at Uni I worked for Mars UK as an Assistant Brand Manager. Straight after Uni I worked for an Advertising company in central London before being offered a scholarship to study for a Masters at NYU in New York. After my year in America I returned to FMCGs in London and worked for an alcohol manufacturer in their sales division.  After a short stint there I was lucky enough to get a place on this scheme, and… here I am!

How did you find TUI and why did you apply?

I think my interfering Mum actually found the original advert for this role. It was on the Milkround website. I applied because I’m a generalist and I liked the idea of learning about how loads of different parts of a huge organisation work and then how those parts all fit together. The fact that all this was for a company that’s main objective is to sell holidays sounded pretty cool to me!

Where are you working? How are you finding it?

I’m working in the Product and Service Development Team in the Airline at the moment. This team is all about the customer and ranges from deciding seating, lighting, meals, drinks, through to duty free and in-flight entertainment. My main project has been working on the customer experience on board our new B787 Dreamliner. I’ve also had another project managing the trial of a new type of meal service.

Most exciting or challenging thing you have done so far?

The most challenging part of the GLP is moving around the business at such pace. Each placement is a race against time to quickly form relationships, get to grips with the details and quickly make a meaningful and long lasting effect on the business. It’s tough but I wouldn’t have it any other way!

What are your interests outside of work?

Outside of work I like to keep fit, host dinner parties and generally hang out with my buddies.

Tell us something weird/different/interesting about yourself

I ran the New York City Marathon in 2010 in under 4 hrs. A more embarrassing fact is that I used to be the head of a Drum Corps in a military marching band. Man, that’s sad isn’t it…

 

Leave a Reply

