Where are they now? – Part 2

Our topic following the progress of some of last year’s grads continues! This time, the focus of our attention is Tariq.

Tariq

Who are you?

I’m Tariq, 24 years of age and I studied Business and Management at University.

Why did you choose to join the TUI UK Graduate Leadership scheme? 

After leaving university I landed a role in the City with a recruitment firm, but I found the training was lacking and the environment very ‘cut-throat’. After looking at what the TUI Grad scheme could offer I knew it was the right choice, I not only had an interest in the travel market, but the company offered so much in the way of training, support and prospects – and it’s certainly been what I expected.

What roles did you do whilst on the scheme?

My first placement was in the Distribution department putting together the foundations of a Cruise retention strategy. Then I moved onto Airline where I worked with the in-flight retail team, where I had numerous projects associated with our onboard offering. My 3rd placement was in Commercial with the Product team (incidentally where I managed to find myself a full time role as an Assistant Product Manager), during my time with the team I was looking at a vast project around our Supplemented Rooms. Finally, I spent 6 weeks overseas experiencing ‘life on the front-line’ in Mallorca – a great experience where I got to see the invaluable work that our overseas staff put in, as well as meet some of our key suppliers.

Most exciting/challenging experience?  

Presenting my findings for a project I was doing around supplemented room types to our MD, it was a really nerve-racking experience, but one that left me with a great sense of achievement.

What is your role now?

I’m currently working as an Assistant Product Manager for Cyprus and Morocco – it’s a great role and one that’s constantly challenging, which is exactly what I wanted.

How has the Grad scheme helped you?  

The grad scheme did so many things for me, first and foremost it got me into a great company and gave me the platform to get noticed. On top of that it offered invaluable training in the form of regular workshops and reviews. On the grad scheme you also get a mentor from a senior position within the business, again, this proved to be a real help as I would often go to them for advice, contacts or just a general chat. Finally, the rotations allow you the rare opportunity to immerse yourself in so many areas of the business – a great way to figure out where you would like to end up, as well as how the company works as a whole.

Do you have a tip for to future grads?

Just one…? There are so many… my one tip – befriend everyone, you never know when you might need someone to call on, regardless of where they work.

Describe your grad scheme experience in 3 words:

Unique, exciting and educational!

Leave a Reply

