Get to know the Grads – Part 5 – Dan

Dan
Dan

Brief introduction of yourself

Hi, I’m Dan. I’m 23 and am from Hemel Hempstead which pretty much makes me a local. I graduated from Sheffield Uni back in 2010 with a BEng in Aeronautical Engineering.

What did you do before TUI (University, previous work experience etc.)?

Since leaving Uni and deciding that Engineering wasn’t for me I’ve had a few roles while I searched for something I’d like to do longer term. I initially joined a company in London called NSL working as part of their Professional Standards team ensuring all staff were legally working in the country before moving on to their HR department where I was involved in testing for Supervisor roles and recruitment reporting to be delivered to the board. More recently I have worked in Engineering recruitment before joining TUI back in October 2011.

How did you find TUI and why did you apply?

I was very keen to find a position within an airline and with so few opportunities out there resorted to trawling the website of every airline I could think of. It was when doing this that I came across the scheme which offered everything I was looking for and more. The opportunity to work within the airline while also experiencing a number of other areas of the business is unique so it was no brainer for me to apply.

Where are you working? How are you finding it?

I’m currently working with the Product team within the Commercial department concentrating on our Turkish resorts while also conducting a review of our Twins and Tours offering. The team tend to concentrate on future seasons so I spend most of my time planning for Summer 2013 which can be feel quite odd a times.

While it’s not something I ever envisaged myself doing it’s a great opportunity to understand how a key part of the business works and there is a great team atmosphere too!

Most exciting or challenging thing you have done so far?

The most exciting thing I’ve done to date has to be my familiarisation flight which I took in December. This involved sitting in the cockpit of a Boeing 757 for a return flight from Gatwick to Innsbruck. I say Innsbruck however I never actually made it there as shortly after take-off we were diverted to Salzburg instead making for a very busy flight. Once in Salzburg (where it was also starting to snow heavily) we had to wait for our passengers to be bussed down from Innsbruck for our return flight resulting in 4 hour delay. While I’m sure this wasn’t ideal for the passengers involved it was great for me to get some time to know both the flight and cabin crew. On reflection it was a great experience and seeing how we react to difficult situations was for me a bonus.

What are your interests outside of work?

I’m really into my sport and in particular rugby. I have a season ticket with Saracens and also follow Aston Villa. With the Olympics coming up I know I will be glued to it for the full duration either in person or in front of a TV!

Tell us something weird/different/interesting about yourself

I made my TV debut in the closing credits of the rugby sevens on BBC1 a few years ago dressed as a 118 runner.

Leave a Reply

