Get to know the 2012 grads – Emma

Emma
Emma

University and Degree: Durham University, Combined Arts – French and History

What Scheme you are on: UK & I Commercial

Why did you apply for the graduate scheme at TUI: Very clichéd, but I’ve always wanted to work in travel. I can spend days sat in front of my laptop putting together the perfect (and cheapest) holiday and I’ll always read the travel section of any newspaper first. While waiting to hear back from TUI, I applied to be an airhostess…and didn’t make it past the first round.

What you are doing in your current assignment: My first placement was in Distribution working on our CruiseDeals brand. It was very much a marketing role and my main task was to review and develop a social media strategy for CruiseDeals. However, I also got involved in lots of other things day to day, including researching and writing copy for the website.
I’ve just started my second placement which is completely different from my first and is based in the Thomson Aircraft hanger. I never thought I’d be able to step out of the office and be surrounded by airplanes. I’m looking at spend analysis and seeing how we can run a more efficient fleet.

Favourite thing about working at TUI: I can’t really choose one thing: the culture, the office, the opportunity to challenge yourself on an hourly basis, the free bus, the food, and obviously the holidays.

What is your best holiday/travel experience: Whale watching in Tadoussac, Canada

Dream holiday destination: My dream holiday would be a toss up between a Nile cruise and rail journey across Australia. Both involve me being constantly on the move, so maybe I’m worried about being bored…

What is the cheesiest song on your i-pod: ‘Push it’ by Salt-N-Pepa

Favourite film: Forrest Gump

Most adventurous thing you’ve ever eaten: Chicken’s feet

If you could meet anyone, living or dead, who would it be and why: Tim Henman. My all-time favourite underdog.

Leave a Reply

