First placement – Financial Accounting

As part of the Finance Graduate Scheme we have 3 rotations each lasting 12 months. My first placement has been split between 3 months in the Shared Service Centre and 9 months in the Financial Accounting Team.

 The Shared Service Centre is the beating heart of finance collecting, collating and processing all of the information for the whole Finance Department. It is here I learnt all about the day-to-day running of the business. Whether it is receiving payments from customers, processing payments to suppliers or ordering foreign exchange for our shops, it is in the Shared Service Centre where the majority of the money comes in, and goes out of the business. After an initial overview, I was given a project which I could take ownership of and be responsible for the 3 month placement.  

 The Financial Accounting Team has multiple areas embedded within it and I get to work with them all! Even at this early stage material learnt from studying CIMA is helping me in my daily work. I split my time between all the teams allowing me to get experience at (to name but a few); Statutory Accounting, VAT, Fixed Assets, Intercompany and Reporting. In each of these areas I have my own objectives to achieve over the course of my placement and my own pieces of work which I am responsible for on a month-to-month basis. This is all interspersed with Graduate Project work as well as working with other areas in finance on various projects.

 Sounds like a lot? It is! But it is extremely rewarding learning such a variety of skills, almost something new every day, which I know will stay with me throughout not only my studies, but my career as well.

 Good luck to anyone thinking of applying and hopefully I’ll see you around the office in a few months!

Finlay McCallum (Finance Graduate)

Leave a Reply

