Get to know the 2012 Grads – Malcolm

University and Degree: Leeds University – Politics & Sociology

Malcolm
Malcolm

What Scheme you are on: I.T.

Why did you apply for the graduate scheme at TUI: I have always been interested in the travel industry and when I found out about the graduate scheme on offer at TUI I applied straight away. I chose the I.T. scheme because I felt that it’s an area that’s growing in importance for all businesses. I.T. touches every aspect of the company and I realised that this would be the perfect opportunity to develop key skills that could be applied in any organisation or business area.

What you are doing in your current assignment: I am currently working in the business analysis team as part of my I.T. Solutions placement. I’ve worked on a number of different projects which have been both I.T. and non-I.T. related. These include projects which have aimed to streamline current Disney booking, room description, and holiday transfer processes. Another graduate and I are also working closely with the Overseas Commercial Manager in developing Thomson’s youth strategy in relation to the ‘2wentys’ brand.

Favourite thing about working at TUI: I really like the relaxed and easy going atmosphere in the office. Everybody is so approachable and friendly which has made it easy to settle in here. It’s apparent that everyone is passionate about what they’re working on and that gives the office a really great vibe. The staff offers are also amazing!

What are your interests outside of work: I enjoy playing and watching football, keeping fit and spending time with friends.

What is your best holiday/travel experience: Spending 6 weeks travelling around the west coast of America in a campervan.

Dream holiday destination: Brazil…preferably for the world cup in 2014!

Favourite film:  City of God

Most adventurous thing you’ve ever eaten: Either Dog in Vietnam or fried Crickets in Cambodia

Interesting fact about yourself: I was once on a channel 4 TV show called ‘Home from Home’

Leave a Reply

