Anna’s Highlights from Crete – the biggest of all the Greek Islands…

‘YAMAS!’  – Cheers!

Goats in trees, Raki (the local ‘firewater’), mountains, olives, 300 days of sunshine, feta cheese, blue flag beaches, ancient ruins….Crete has so much to offer everyone!

So I’m back in TUI HQ and reflecting on my 5 weeks on the beautiful Island of Crete. What a fantastic and invaluable experience to add to my ever-growing knowledge of the company. I thought I’d focus this blog on my 3 highlights to give you an insight to the overseas experience.

My first highlight has to be seeing our differentiated products in action. Having heard a lot about the differentiated product strategy in head office it was useful to see how they actually operated and how our customers were brand advocates or new to the concepts and already eager for more.

I want to specifically mention Sensatori… I certainly had my ‘Sensatori Wow Moment’ when the manager Linda showed me my room for the evening. My own private pool, refreshments, jacuzzi bath, the comfiest bed in the world (I’m not even exaggerating)  and much more!  It’s clear to see why our customers are becoming loyal to the Sensatori concept. It really does have all those 5 star touches and it was much better than I could ever imagine. The food was incredible, the entertainment out of this world and I was spoilt for choice with the sports & wellbeing offering – it’s no wonder it’s our flagship offering.

View of Sensatori CreteSensatori - the most comfortable bed in the world!

Secondly, the excursions I experienced really allowed me to appreciate how amazing Crete was. The local knowledge from the guides really enhanced each trip I went on and it was clear our customers really valued this aspect. From a 4×4 jeep safari, a market trip to Agios Nikolaos (‘Little Venice’) and a day trip to Santorini I really made the most of my time in Crete. The excursions gave me an opportunity to talk to some of our customers and tap into their excursion booking habits, from this I have recommendations to share with our Holiday Experience team.

Oia - SantoriniAghios Nikolaos Harbour4x4 Jeep Safari  - Mountain top view of olive groves

And last but by no means least, shadowing our overseas workers allowed me to fully understand the operational side to making our holidays special. The experience really made me appreciate how much hard work goes into delighting our customers. I spent time shadowing Holiday Advisors, Resort Team Managers, Team Leaders,  Admin Team Managers and the Area Manager Dawn who is responsible for the performance of Crete & Santorini. Everyone was really helpful  and helped me to understand the processes and systems used Overseas.

I’ve gone from 35 days of sunshine to 4 days of rain since being back, but it’s great to now compare my experience with all the other graduates…

Holiday Advising at The Island Hotel in Central CreteHoliday Advising at The Island Hotel in Central Crete 2 

 

 

Leave a Reply

