Meet the 2013 Grads – Katie

1374852_10201993835346637_1937725542_n

University and Degree: Durham University, Sport Science

What Scheme you are on: TUI UK&I Leadership Scheme (Commercial)

Why did you apply for the graduate scheme at TUI: I knew that I wanted to work in the travel industry but wasn’t sure exactly what I wanted to do. The scheme offered me the opportunity to work in different areas of the largest tour operator in Europe so fitted the bill perfectly.

What you are doing in your current assignment: I’m working in E-commerce and my role is to introduce a Recommendations Engine into the Thomson and First Choice websites (an amazing first assignment!)

Favourite thing about working at TUI: The people and the diversity of the day to day role.

What did you do before TUI? I worked in recruitment for Viridium Associates. I loved it there, great company and great friends but knew that my passion was in travel so I had to move on.

What are your interests outside of work: Sport in general but hockey specifically, going to as many music festivals as possible and generally not taking life too seriously.

What is your best holiday/travel experience: I went on the World Challenge (coincidently a TUI owned company) to Guatemala and Belize. Guatemala is the best place I’ve ever been to.

Dream holiday destination: Kenyan Safari

Favourite film/Documentary: Van Wilder, Party liaison (I also love any documentaries on animals!)

If you could invite one person to a dinner party who would it be? David Attenborough – He is a living legend I would love to talk to him for hours on end.

If you won the lottery what is the first thing(s) you’d buy: A Micro Pig and a Spider Monkey

Leave a Reply

