Meet the 2013 Grads – Liza

Image

University and Degree: University of Glasgow, MA (Hons) Economics with Business Economics

What Scheme you are on: TUI UK&I Leadership Scheme (Commercial)

Why did you apply for the graduate scheme at TUI: I was working in the PR industry and realised it wasn’t for me. All I’d worked out was that I wanted to travel and I wanted to live in London. I’m a ski-rep for TUI brand Off The Piste, so TUI was the first place I looked. It just so happened there was a fantastic scheme that offered lots of different opportunities (and would allow me to make the move down south) still taking applications… so I went for it!

What you are doing in your current assignment: I currently work in the Systems & Compliance department of Thomson Airways. My project has involved me reviewing current storage methods of training records for all crew members, and carrying out research into alternative solutions. My main focus just now is completing a business case with recommendations on an electronic format that will transform the recording process and create efficiency improvements across the department.

Favourite thing about working at TUI: Everyone says it, but I love the business diversity, there is always so much going on! There’s also plenty of opportunity to get involved in any number of projects, you just have to ask.

What are your interests outside of work: Get me on the topic of skiing and I won’t stop. I also love a good exercise class – Yoga, pilates, ballet, circuits – just a few of my favourites… oh and shopping (walking and heavy lifting – it counts as exercise). Being a new Londoner, I’m also a big fan of sightseeing, shows and finding cute bars in odd places.

What is your best holiday/travel experience: The kid in me says Florida. Aside from the rides, I got to meet Cinderella and swim with dolphins. I think it made my childhood.

Dream holiday destination: A private island in the Caribbean, where I’d relax on the beach every day with cocktails and burgers, and hold a neon nineties rave every night.

Favourite film: Anything released in the 50s/60s starring Audrey Hepburn or Marilyn Monroe, so cute.

If you won the lottery what is the first thing you’d buy: I would build a ski chalet in a beautiful mountain somewhere, move in and just never come back

Leave a Reply

