Meet the 2013 Grads – Ben

Ben

University and Degree: BA (Hons) Business Management, University of Greenwich

What Scheme you are on: UK&I Leadership Scheme  – I.T.

Why did you apply for the graduate scheme at TUI:Having previously worked in the aviation industry, I had a good understanding of the principles behind TUI Travel. I wanted to work somewhere that had the same passion for travel as I do. Let’s be honest – what job is better than delivering people the holidays of their lifetime?

What you are doing in your current assignment: In my current assignment I am working in the Project Management office, controlling change within the biggest IT transformation programme that TUI has ever undertaken. My role involves managing the interdependencies between a number of projects, whilst also monitoring the financial and operational aspects of change control.

Favourite thing about working at TUI: My favourite aspect of working at TUI is the buzz around the company. It’s a 24/7 operation, meaning there’s always something going on, and that means there is never a dull moment. And I’ve also got to mention the people. Everyone at TUI genuinely cares about the company and what we do as a collective, and I’ve been lucky enough to work with a great bunch so far! (Yes fellow grads, that’s you too…)

What is your best holiday/travel experience: Travelling around Croatia. Hands down, one of the best things I’ve ever done. With not a lot else apart from a rucksack, a tent and a couple of mates, we did some exploring before spending the next 2 weeks building (and then enjoying) one of the leading European festivals. Camped out on the beach with sunshine, amazing scenery, beautiful people and storms that made me feel a little less manly, it was one of the best travel experiences that I’ve ever had!

Most adventurous thing you’ve ever eaten: Conch (aka, a sea slug). Whilst out in the Turk & Caicos Islands I somehow got convinced into eating this little monster, which didn’t taste great and subsequently bought me out in a full-body rash.

If you won the lottery what is the first thing you’d buy: A good accountant! Immediately followed by a flight over to the States to do Route 66, and then over to the East Coast so that I could jump straight onto my new superyacht and go sailing around the Caribbean.

What is the cheesiest song on your iPod: R Kelly – I Believe I Can Fly. I’d like to think my accompanying lip sync is also pretty decent.

Leave a Reply

