Meet the 2013 Grads – Lynsey

New Image

University and Degree: International Business with Spanish at the University of Edinburgh

Which scheme are you on? UK&I Leadership Scheme (Commercial)

Why did you apply for the graduate scheme at TUI? A real interest in travel and tourism is probably the obvious answer to this question, but I would add that having a bit of experience in a few other industries really helped me understand the importance of working in an industry you feel passionate about.  I can’t think of a better product/service to be helping develop, improve, promote and sell than holidays!

What did you do before joining TUI? I graduated in July 2011 and spent a year working in the automobile industry, before returning to Barcelona (where I had spent my ERASMUS year) to teach English and take advantage of the beautiful weather!

What are you doing in your current assignment? I am working within the Distribution Sales & Service team on one of the most exciting projects the business has seen.  The purpose of the project is essentially to revolutionise the service we provide (both internally and externally).  The highlight was probably presenting to the Board of Directors.

What is your favourite thing about working for TUI? The atmosphere in the office is the best I have ever experienced, and it is really conducive to learning and innovation.  The people are friendly and approachable, and it really has been so easy to fit in.

What are your interests outside of work? I am a bit of a social butterfly and tend to spend no time in my flat.  It normally involves going to the pub with the other grads, popping over to Barcelona for the weekend or beating some of the other grads when racing on the X Dream bikes at the gym (sorry Laura and Louise)! 

What is your best holiday/travel experience? Travelling for a month around New Zealand. 

Dream holiday destination: I would love to escape to somewhere really chilled with warm weather and beautiful beaches, like Jamaica.  I’m sure I’d find some watersports to do if I got bored!

Proudest achievement: Breaking 4 hours in the Barcelona marathon was definitely up there, particularly because it was not only on St. Patrick’s Day, but it was also the morning after a very late 6 Nations Scotland vs. England game (which we lost, unsurprisingly)!

Interesting fact about yourself: I used to live in Barcelona.  Twice.  I’m not sure if I mentioned that already.  (I am a little bit obsessed with Barcelona and normally tell everyone within about 2 minutes of meeting them.  Did I mention that I lived in Barcelona?)

If you won the lottery, what is the first thing you’d buy? Probably a first class trip around Central/South America for myself and some friends, stopping in Jamaica for a rest on the way home.

Leave a Reply

