Meet the 2013 Grads – Sam

Sam D blogUniversity and Degree: Edinburgh University, Geography BSc

What Scheme you are on: Finance Scheme

Why did you apply for the graduate scheme at TUI: I wanted to combine my interests in finance and travel. TUI provided the ideal scheme to do just that. The huge variety of roles offered as part of the scheme also made the choice attractive.

What you are doing in your current assignment:  I started in Commercial Finance with responsibilities for fraud reporting, weekly trading updates and overheads. This quickly expanded to include Marketing and managing their costs and budgets.

Favourite thing about working at TUI: The huge variety of roles that are available to take on, alongside extra responsibilities outside your day to day job that are offered is my favourite thing about TUI. As well as this, the amount of trust and responsibility placed in the graduates from day one really makes TUI great. On top of all of this, the constant excitement about holidays and the products that we deliver makes you feel that you are part of a very exciting and unique business.

What is your best holiday/travel experience: I can’t play favourites with my holidays! Towards the top of my list would be South Africa – the scenery and food is fantastic. California (for the same reasons!). If you want a constant buzz and love a city break, I would put Hong Kong at top as well.

Dream holiday destination: Japan. I like the sound of the efficiency, the sights and the food (I can see food being really vital in any future holiday!).

Most adventurous thing you’ve ever eaten: Turtle curry.

Favourite film: Skyfall. I think it is the best James Bond ever made.

If you could meet anyone, living or dead, who would it be and why: Richard Branson. I really admire that he has tried out a huge number of business ideas with varying degrees of success. His drive and determination to succeed are traits to aspire to.

If you won the lottery what is the first thing you’d buy: A car filled with plenty of gadgets to be able to travel around stress free!

What is the cheesiest song on your i-pod: Cheeky Song by The Cheeky Girls. A relic from Now Dance 2003. I miss this being an acceptable thing to have on an iPod.

Leave a comment