Katie’s first placement in E-commerce

My journey at TUI began far away from my comfort zone in E-commerce. With a background in Sales and a degree in Sport Science I was terrified but excited by the thought of an ‘IT-heavy’ first placement.

Two weeks into my placement the E-commerce department included me in a team trip to Tenerife for the E-commerce conference. This was an amazing opportunity for me to get to know not only my direct team but also to meet lots of new faces throughout the department. The ethos on this trip was work hard, play hard and was an absolutely incredible ice-breaker!

Once back in the UK I focussed on the task in hand, implementing a ‘Recommendations Engine’ onto the Thomson and First Choice Websites. This is a tool you may be familiar with from the likes of Amazon and ASOS which uses a customer’s cookie history to provide recommendations based on what we believe will be of interest to that individual,  based on their previous searches, entry and exit pages.

My placement was focussed on project management. This involved a high level of organisation, daily meetings with both the internal team and evening phone calls with the US based supplier. It was essential to coordinate the team on a daily basis and ensure that we were meeting project milestones.

Tight time pressures made delivering this project very tough but it went live just before Christmas.

This is what it looks like;

Thomson:TH Rec engine 2First Choice:

FC Rec engine2

Katie Astin (UK&I Commercial Graduate)

Leave a Reply

