Hello Cyprus!

Name: Katie

Overseas destination: Cyprus 

My experience: I began my placement in the party place that is Aiya Napa, living next to a Russian karaoke bar, sleeping became more of a luxury than an expectation! The team on the East of Cyprus were very welcoming and after a couple of days observing the role of a Holiday Advisor (HA) I was soon in my Thomson uniform getting involved wherever I could.

After spending a few days in our Thomson and First Choice hotels, learning the differences between our products and speaking to our guests I tried my hand at the airport, shadowing an experienced airport transfer rep; little did I know the next time I set foot on a coach I would be in full uniform, singlehandedly leading my own airport transfer. Despite being thrown in at the deep end, this was an absolutely amazing opportunity, pushed me out of my comfort zone and gave me the chance to speak to our customers first hand.photo

In week three I travelled towards the West, stopping in Limassol for a week to immerse myself in the overseas office operation. I spent time with Admin, Yield, Legal, Finance and my favourite area, Purchasing. During my stay in Limassol I was lucky enough to eat in the Four Seasons Hotel, an impressive unit with a mind blowing desert buffet (see right)

In my final week I headed further west towards Paphos stopping off for a quick look at the famous, Aphrodite Hill’s, soon to be one of our new Sensatori hotels for Summer 2015.

Favourite thing about the 5 week overseas placement:The highlight of my trip was the final week in Paphos where I spent time in the Aliathon Holiday Village getting involved in all the entertainment including, Archery, Aeroball, Water polo against the guests and lots more. I took part in Kids Club sessions and won an i5Live award for my attempts at a pop quiz in the evening.

photo

Overseas was a truly enjoyable and invaluable experience which I have learnt a lot from.

 Katie Astin (UK&I Commercial Graduate)

Leave a comment