Hola Mallorca!

Name: Louisephoto1

Overseas destination: Majorca

My favourite thing about the overseas placement: Apart from waking up to beautiful views every morning (I was lucky enough to have this sunrise from my apartment!) my favourite thing about my overseas placement was how varied my 5 weeks were! No day was the same and it allowed me to experience all parts of the customer experience.

Some of my days were spent with the holiday advisors; watching their welcome meetings, dealing with customers’ queries and organising the departures and arrivals for that day. Others were spent with the kids club and entertainment teams; my highlights being dressing up as a pirate as part of the Holiday Village charity day, taking part in customer versus reps water polo games, taking an aqua aerobics class, experiencing our 2wentys school disco night out, and even beating the record for the most amount of people around the Holiday village pool at one time! (see picture!) On top of all of this, I got to work with the Resort Team Managers, the TUI office team (the behind the scene operations of overseas) our Spanish agent for all of our excursions, TUI Espana, the Palma airport team and even the Area Manager of Majorca.

photo2

I also had the opportunity to learn and experience our different concepts we have here at TUI. From Thomson Gold to Thomson Couples, from Holiday Village to our TUI joint concepts (TUI UK&I & TUI Nordic working together) even to our Thomson family and 2wentys brands; I got to see them all! It was great to see how these concepts are aimed at our different types of customers and tailoring our style to meet the different customer needs.

All of this allowed me to experience the TUI customer journey.  

My biggest learning: I have to say, apart from what is mentioned above, my biggest learning had to be seeing the extreme dedication and commitment of our overseas teams. The average working day overseas is not your standard Monday-Friday 9-5; it is continuous and ongoing customer service to ensure we provide our customers with an excellent holiday. Whether it is the airport team welcoming passengers from a 2am flight, or the entertainment teams singing and dancing every night, the amount of enthusiasm across all the teams was extremley impressive.

 Louise Dwyer (UK&I IT Graduate)

Leave a Reply

