2014 IT Grad: Tamara Edwards

Name: Tamara Edwardstamara photo

Degree and University: Tourism Management at The University of Surrey

Which TUI graduate scheme you’re on: IT Graduate Scheme

What are you doing in your current assignment? I am currently a Problem Manager working within IT Service Delivery- it involves managing IT issues that impact the business, coordinating stakeholders and resolving problems to improve our IT Service performance.

What is your favourite thing about working at TUI? My favourite thing about working at TUI has got to be the great people! Everyone I have met so far has been so welcoming and supportive, which is definitely important as the people you work with play a huge role in ensuring you enjoy your job.

What were you doing at this time last year?  This time last year I was starting my final year of University after completing a Professional Training Year in a hotel. It is safe to say that I really appreciated my final year at University after experiencing a tough, yet very rewarding placement.

What has been your best holiday? My best holiday was interrailing this summer after University. We managed 12 cities across 6 countries in 22 days!  It was crazy but definitely the best way to see European cities in a shorter period of time.

If you could combine two holidays, what would they be? I love loads of snow but I am also a huge sunworshipper! So I would like a place that had metres of snow but then next door had a perfect beach and scorching sunshine so I could still get my tan!

Three interesting facts about you:

I captained my University netball team and played all three years- I also started netball sessions at TUI for everyone so if you are interested give me a shout!

I passed my driving test on my 6th attempt! The examiners in the high vis jackets with clipboards used to make me a nervous wreck (That was 5 years ago and I haven’t had an accident since- so those tests are not a reflection on my driving ability!)

I am from Essex but I have never watched TOWIE. The closest I have come is watching Gemma Collins in I’m a celebrity this year, when she lasted like 5 minutes so that doesn’t count.

Three top tips for the application process:

Be Prepared- I cannot stress how important it is to do your research before any job interview or assessment, it demonstrates that you are interested in the company and that you are committed to spend the time to do the research (which is always important!)

Be Honest- I know it’s not always easy but I found that it was always better to admit when you aren’t sure of an answer rather than to attempt to blag it (because they will be able to see through it!)

Be Yourself- Tell them all the great things that you have achieved and experienced, having a great personality and eagerness to learn are often more important to employers than the perfect CV.

Leave a Reply

