2014 UK&I Graduate Leadership: Alexandra Vaughan

Name: Alexandra Vaughanalex vaughan photo

Degree and University: BSc Hons International Business and Modern Languages (Spanish and German) at Aston University in Birmingham.

Which TUI graduate scheme you’re on: I’m on the UK & Ireland Graduate Leadership Scheme.

What are you doing in your current assignment?: I’m currently working in Ecommerce, within the Mobile and Tablet team. I had never really thought about Ecommerce before (I thought it would be too technical!) but I am thoroughly enjoying the fast paced environment and how current everything we do is. I’m personally responsible for an up and coming Mobile project. It’s given me great exposure to the business as I’ve been meeting with people from different departments across the business, everyone from trading to PR and social media!

What is your favourite thing about working at TUI?: The best thing about TUI is definitely the people and culture – everyone is lovely and so passionate about what we do. Second best thing has got to be the benefits and rewards we get, cheap holidays, what’s not to like?!

What were you doing at this time last year?: This time last year I was working as a Graduate at a small telecommunications company. It was a great company, but I realised that I wasn’t passionate about telephone systems and internet, so changing to the travel industry was the perfect step for me.

If you had to be an animal, what would you be and why?: I’d be a sloth, because they always look so smiley and chilled out. Can you have sloths as pets? I might look into that…

What’s your proudest achievement and why?: My proudest achievement has got to be getting the TUI Grad Scheme job. Coming from a different graduate scheme and comparing the two I know how prestigious the TUI one is. The opportunities us graduates get at TUI to move across the business and develop our skills is second to none, and the people definitely make the scheme – the support I am getting in my personal development is brilliant.

Who would be your ideal dinner party guest and why?: My ideal dinner party guest would be Dave Grohl (frontman in the Foo Fighters) – he’s just so cool! I’d like to buy him a beer in the hope he could give us a quick song (or three!).

Which world landmark would you most like to visit in the future and why? I’d love to visit Niagara Falls. I grew up near the sea and love it, so to see a powerful force such as Niagara Falls would be incredible!

Leave a Reply

