Jo – my role as a Business Analyst Executive on the IT Grad Scheme

In January this year I started a role within IT Portfolio Management as a Business Analyst Executive. During this I’ve been lucky enough to have completed some external training, passing an exam for the BCS ‘Requirements Engineering’ course in London.

As a BA, my role is to define what the ‘business requirements’ are from an IT software project – the business can be any other department such as HR, Finance or Marketing etc. and the types of projects can vary greatly from introducing iPads to all overseas staff, a project to help transform airport operations or enhancing the Thomson and First Choice website’s customer personalisation.

During a project I make use of several investigative techniques including interviews and workshops to identify how individuals works within a software system and what their needs are for a new system. Meeting with stakeholders is crucial to BA work and this role has greatly helped me develop my stakeholder management skills. I then document detailed requirements for changes to the business system, I will then work with other areas of IT to help define and test the solution.

So far I’ve worked on several different IT projects including:

  • Airline: the introduction of cabin-crew iPads – defining the AS IS and TO BE processes and analysing reporting needs
  • Customer operations: Defining requirements for a call centre relocation project
  • Marketing & digital: Looking into current processes for our content management system and working with a consultant on what would be required to implement a new CMS.

My current project sits within the Customer Operations portfolio and involves looking at the IT requirements for Thomson’s new cruise ship, the Thomson Discovery, which enters into service in June 2016 – I just visited one of our current ships the Thomson Celebration to investigate current processes and work on the requirements of the new ship – I will report back on my experience and what I learned in a future blog post.

Team Discovery Day in Hitchin
Team Discovery Day in Hitchin

As well as learning about the different techniques of Business Analysis, I’ve definitely enjoyed getting to know more about areas of the business that I didn’t know much about before, such as Airline and Customer Operations.

Tamara and I have also worked on a side project implementing an IT Induction process; this has now been rolled out and is proving to be successful. We’ve both also been involved heavily in the graduate recruitment for the Sept 2015 intake of IT graduates, and we have successfully recruited two candidates who will start later in the year.

I have also recently completed a Discovery Day – a paid day out of the office where you can work with a local charity – in Hitchin for a children’s charity.

Jo team day 2Finally alongside my day to day and extra project work I am part of an Innovation working group; which aims to encourage the department to generate innovative IT ideas that link back to the TUI strategy and that could improve an element of the customer or colleague journey. We are looking to run Proof of Concepts with some of the idea’s we currently have – these could then become full-blown IT projects and rolled out to larger proportions of staff or customers should the POC be successful. Watch this space!

Jo Cave

Leave a Reply

