Hola from Tenerife!

Almost 2 weeks into my overseas assignment here on the spectacular island of Tenerife, I thought I’d give you an update on what I’ve been getting up to.selfie

Upon arrival into Tenerife South, I was whisked off to the apartment where I’d be spending the next 5 weeks, in a small village called Miraverde, just up the hill from the coastal resort of Costa Adeje and met my flatmate, Aidan, who works within the UK & I resort admin team here in Tenerife.

The next morning, I headed into the TUI office (a stone’s throw from the beautiful Fanabe beach) for an assignment briefing with Paul Summerell – one of the service and operations manager here in Tenerife – and then spent some time meeting the resort office team.me

Day 2 of my assignment was spent getting to know Tenerife on the Panoramic Teide excursion. The USP of this excursion is that you get to see 75% of Tenerife in one day, with a whistle stop tour of a typical Canarian village, a delicious lunch in Puerto de la Cruz, and an afternoon spent exploring Teide national park. At the centre of the park is Mount Teide – standing at 12,402 ft it’s one of the largest volcanoes in the world, and needless to say it’s a pretty spectacular sight. The excursion was also a great opportunity to meet some of our customers, and discuss their experiences of their holiday.trees la gomera

On Day 3, I donned my rep uniform and spent the day in three of our hotels, learning about the role of our holiday reps here. I helped the reps with some welcome meetings, did some ‘see offs’, where we bid farewell to our customers as they leave resort for the airport, and helped with the delivery of welcome packs to customers’ rooms. I was slightly apprehensive about going out in uniform, only a couple of days in to my assignment, but soon got into the swing of things.uniform

One of the best things about being out here in resort is getting to spend time getting to know our different products and concepts, and during week one I was lucky enough to spend time at both our Sensatori resort and Holiday Village. Sensatori resort Tenreife is a spectacular 5*+ hotel, located on the west coast in Guia de Isora.  This 5* concept is centred around 4 ‘flavours’ – Adventure, Play, Sport & Relaxation, and after touring the hotel with Sensatori Experience Manager Ali, I took part in a gin & tonic tasting session, then ate in the Italian a la carte restaurant (one of 8 restaurants on site!), before settling down to watch the evening entertainment (all in all a pretty tough day at the office…). Sensatori has it’s own showcast performers, who perform in nightly shows and also lead our children’s entertainment, and I was enormously impressed with the show, which could have been plucked right off the west end.

Trying out the high ropes in the Holiday Village
Trying out the high ropes in the Holiday Village

After a very chilled day at Sensatori, Holiday Village was something of a contrast!  Along with Holiday Experience Manager Matt, I spent a very active day trying out the high ropes course, competing in a staff vs guests water polo match (the staff, I’m pleased to say, were victorious) and watched the evening entertainment (inadvertently ending up on stage dancing ‘the jelly man’).

Rounding off week 2, I spent some time learning about the other TUI source markets operating in Tenerife. First I spent the day with TUI Holland, learning about their processes and operations, and then was lucky enough to head over to La Gomera, another, smaller, Canary Island just next to Tenerife, with Ulrike, Team manager for Tui Germany, to visit some of the hotels that Tui Germany operate on the island.

It hasn’t all been hard work though – I’ve been hopping around the island in my free time, visiting the resorts of Las Americas and Los Cristianos, and heading to the beach after work to catch the beautiful Tenerifean sunset.Tenerife sunset

That’s all from me for now – hasta luego!

Leave a Reply

