The Corfu experience

As I was the first of the grads to come out on their overseas adventure I was both excited and nervous to see what was in store for me when I got out to resort.  The team out here in Corfu have been amazing and they have kept me very busy so far sending me on all the excursions, visiting the units across the island and working in both the hotels and airport.

Me still loving life after a 20 hour airport shift (9am-5am)
Me still loving life after a 20 hour airport shift (9am-5am)

I have been primarily based near the town of Gouvia, which is in the middle of the island and close to Corfu Town which is the capital. I was well and truly thrown into the deep end and was pretty much wearing my uniform straight away and chatting to guests. I definitely think that by getting stuck in and giving it a go was the best way for me to learn quickly about all aspects of the job. I have mainly been based in the Thomson Family Resort (TFR) and have also had a few shifts in the airport working in both arrivals and departures which I have loved.

albania
Day trip to Albania

I have also been on loads of excursions while I have been out here, which has been a great way to learn more about the island and to also get a feel for our excursion products and to see if they are good value for money! I have also celebrated my birthday out here and I spent the day on a trip to Albania, which was so much fun and definitely a unique experience. The trip consisted of a boat trip across to Albania which is only an hour away from Corfu, then visiting the UNESCO heritage site of Butrint and then free time in Saranda one of the most popular tourist resorts in Albania.albania tamara

It has also been great visiting different parts of the island and seeing the different concept hotels and products that we offer to our wide range of customers. I have been up to the north of island to see some of the resorts such as Agios Stefanos, Arillas and Sidari which had a lot of small and friendly hotels. I also went down to the south of the island to see Agios Georgios and Kavos which had very different products and cliental. It was great going down to Kavos and experiencing Thomson Scene and I even had a belated birthday night out on one of the bar crawls and went to a full moon party!corfu map

I have had a great first few weeks out in resort with the UK team and the next couple of weeks will be spent understanding more about the Nordic and GASP operations, products and competitors. Time is flying by and I don’t want my overseas experience to end! I still need to find some time to just chill out and top up my tan though as I haven’t really had a chance yet and I don’t want to come back to the UK pale!

Sunset dinner on Vidos island
Sunset dinner on Vidos island

Tamara

Leave a Reply

