Loving Lanza life!

Uniform day!
Uniform day!

A couple of weeks into my overseas placement in Lanzarote and I’ve already learnt so much about the overseas operation and had a lot of fun, of course!

The time has seen me meeting all the reps in Costa Teguise and donning the uniform to help out in the welcome meetings (with loads of questions coming my way from customers – scary stuff!), spending time trying out the food and beverage services in different hotels, spending a couple of days in the Flamingo Beach Holiday Village as well as trying some of our excursions and exploring the island on my days off (and getting used to driving my little car on the other side of the road).

Timanfaya National Park - Fire Mountains
Timanfaya National Park – Fire Mountains

I’ve also been spending time with the resort managers and staff from the back office and have gained a great insight into how we achieve good customer satisfaction scores and sales. I’ve been able to relate everything I hear about back in the UK to out here in the destination so I’m starting to puzzle the whole operation together.

I thought I’d share some highlights of my time in Lanzarote so far:

  • Getting settled into the apartment with other reps and understanding the highs and lows of their roles.
  • Putting my Thomson uniform on and getting stuck in talking to the customers.
  • Spending two days at the Holiday Village – it’s amazing! I spent the morning in the Kid’s Club and joined in with the activites, as well as watching a bit of football training. Then the staff opened up the high ropes course just for me (if that’s not pressure to go on them, I don’t know what is!)…they didn’t look that high until I actually got up there! I then joined in a pool racing activity – think a Takeshi Castle style pool race – which I definitely fell off a few times! Overall it was an amazing couple of days and I will definitely be recommending to anyone who has kids or who just generally wants a fun filled holiday!

    Day trip on a Catamaran
    Day trip on a Catamaran
  • I love La Graciosa catamaran excursion to the northern island of La Graciosa; Rancho Texas Wild West BBQ night – you’ll definitely be yee-haa-ing by the end of the night; Lanzarote Uncovered island tour which is great to see the breath-taking volcanoes and other parts of the island, as well as seeing blind albino crabs – the only place in the world where they’ve been discovered.

This week I am moving Puerto del Carmen, another one of our resorts as well as popping over to the neighbouring island of Fuerteventura, as you do, to see the sand dunes and lovely beaches!

The beautiful island of La Graciosa
The beautiful island of La Graciosa

With only three weeks to go the time is flying by, so I’m going to get back to Lanza life but I’ll update you again in a couple of weeks.

High ropes at the Holiday Village
High ropes at the Holiday Village

Adios!

Alex

Leave a Reply

